a return trip to Encore Dinner Theatre impresses

I recently came to Encore Dinner Theatre for a production of Fiddler on the Roof. We came a couple of years ago for another show which was enjoyable, but the only thing I remembered about that time was that the musical was fun — even my son liked it — but the food was very forgetful.

theater

This time, my friends and I returned for a matinee and arrived two hours prior to the show to partake on the menu created by Encore’s new French chef. My friends started with some cocktails while I decided to remain sober.

cocktails1 (640x425)

The price of the tickets vary, but average between $60 to $80 which includes a two-course meal of your choice of salad (there’s a house and a Caesar) plus an entree. There are optional menu items which you can choose for a supplement charge, and since there were quite a few of us, we decided to order some extras to try.

salad1 (640x425)

Lamb Sliders with Tzatziki sauce ($11.95) comprised of mini ground lamb patties mixed with special spices and topped with sweet caramelized onions, creamy feta cheese and tzatziki, on a mini brioche bun. All the flavors worked well together, although I would have liked the bun slightly toasted.

lamb sliders (640x425)

When Encore’s Stuffed Portabello Mushroom ($10.95) arrived, I was glad we were sharing! A very large portabello mushroom is stuffed with gorgonzola cheese, bacon bits, sundried tomatoes and herbs, topped with a parmesan crust, then baked until golden brown and served with a tangy marinara sauce. I was surprised how much I liked the marinara and lapped it up with the bread that accompanied.

stuffed mushroom (640x425)

I was a bit skeptical about the Lobster Bisque ($8.95) but it was actually rather good. Apart from my issue with the temperature — it was tepid — the soup was well executed with creme fraiche and a touch of sherry, I could have polished off a large bowl of this on my own.

lobster bisque (640x425)

As far as entrees go, the Roasted Lemon Pepper Chicken was one of the items listed as part of the ticket price. The oven roasted half chicken with Chef’s special blend and lemon zest was moist and juicy, something not easy to do in a dinner theater setting. The signature gravy was tasty and I wanted more of it to go with the mashed potatoes and fresh seasonal vegetables on the plate.

chicken (640x425)

The Filet Mignon ($13.95) was also very good. A 6oz steak is cooked to the right temperature of medium rare and topped with a garlic tomato gorgonzola crust. Again, rather impressive when I thought about how I am at a dinner theater!

filet mignon (640x425)

Some other people ordered the short ribs, but unfortunately I didn’t get to taste it. I heard it was really great as well.

There are desserts on offer for an additional cost, my favorite was the New York Cheesecake ($6.95) with fresh strawberries. Not incredibly dense with a nice creamy texture.

cheesecake (640x425)

This week, I have a pair of VIP Diamond tickets — good for any show (please check website for details) and includes a gourmet dinner valued at $160 to give away. Leave me a comment with your FULL name and who you would bring with you for this unique evening out. Entries close Sunday Nov 3rd, winner will be announced Nov 4th. Good Luck.

Encore Dinner Theatre
690 El Camino Real
Tustin, CA 92780
Tel: 714-545-5400

Encore Dinner Theatre on Urbanspoon

27 thoughts on “a return trip to Encore Dinner Theatre impresses

  1. I would share this win with my friend meighan as it’s her birthday in November and she loves the theatre!

  2. Looks yummy! So glad they are back open. The remodel is beautiful. Can’t wait to try! I would bring my cousin Mark who travels so much, I know he would enjoy an evening out like this.

  3. I would take my sister for a girl’s night out. We haven’t had much time to spend together, being busy with work and classes, and it would be nice to have a night out with just the two of us.

  4. Oh- what fun this would be! My friend has a birthday in late November and it would be a treat to treat her to dinner and a show. I have never been to this dinner theater and your comments have definitely changed my mind about going.

  5. I would bring my mommy. When I was in high school, Fiddler was my senior musical. I know she would love to be treated to a night out and to reminisce. I am now a mother on my own, but I know this would be doubly special to her. Mother Daughter Date Night!

  6. Nice review! I had the short ribs and enjoyed them. Overall, the food was much better than we expected. We went to ECT for our anniversary. Enjoyed the show (singer who sang songs we weren’t very familiar with), but would LOVE to go and see a play, especially Fiddler! A large family group went to ECT many years ago, so the recent remodel is a huge improvement over the previous decor and atmosphere. Depending on the show, I would take either my husband, Tim, or my good friend, Renee.

  7. Thus is a awesome give away. I would bring my son who loves acting but has never been to a live show.

  8. I drive by this place all the time and would love to take my husband there! I also like theatre and food, so any combination of the two is wonderful 🙂

  9. Oh dinner theatre especially French chef gourmet dinner theatre would be perfect! My dear friend Randy is flying in to San Diego Sat 17 Nov. and then is driving up to LA for a workshop. He is a theatre geek who has written and performed a one man show about Winston Churchill for schools, civic organizations and senior centers and recently came back from performing in England. He loves Churchill with such attention to detail that he tracked down and had a suit made identical to one of Sir Winston’s out of the same material. Here is his website: http://askwinston.net/

    If I win I would love to surprise him with such an excellent dinner theatre! If the show is sold out that night, my friend Sue is competing next week in Sweet Adeline chorus International competition in Hawaii and is also a big theatre fan. I owe her a birthday night out and I’d love to treat her to one of the upcoming dinner shows, perhaps the Sinatra one to celebrate her qualifying to compete whether big win lose or draw. Here’s her website which will have a simulcast of the competition if you wish to cheer for So. Cal! http://www.sdchorus.org/
    So there you have it. I have a gourmet palate and a senior’s limited budget and I’d love and hope to win this!

  10. I’ve enjoyed going to the Elizabeth Howard Curtain Call theater for the last 20 years. I have not been to the new Encore theather, which looks amazing from your pictures. Of all the shows we’ve seen, I’ve never experienced Fiddler on the Roof and would love to take my wife. I’m so glad Encore continued the legacy of the dinner theather in OC. Looking forward to more great shows over the coming years.

  11. My name is Kailey and i’d LOVE to take my husband Aaron for Christmas as a Christmas gift! We’re trying to save money right now to buy our first home so as much as i’d love to buy these tickets myself, it just wouldn’t be financially smart for us at the moment. Winning them would be an absolute blessing. 🙂
    Thanks so much!

  12. My name is Kailey and i’d LOVE to take my husband Aaron for Christmas as a Christmas gift! We’re trying to save money right now to buy our first home so as much as i’d love to buy these tickets myself, it just wouldn’t be financially smart for us at the moment. Winning them would be an absolute blessing. 🙂
    Thanks so much!

  13. My name is Martin Fuchs and I would love to take my wife out for dinner and a show.

  14. Hi A.L.! Great review on the Dinner Theatre, makes me excited to go see all the good things about it. Full Name: Cuong Nguyen Who I would bring: My wife. Looking forward to a unique evening out.

  15. Full Name: Cuong Nguyen
    Who I would bring: My wife

    Hi A.L.! What a great review of this theatre experience. Looking forward to this unique evening out.

  16. Hello! My name is Amber Briley. I’ve been to the theater many times up until recently and have yet to experience the new chef’s menu. Your photos are amazing and I can’t wait to try out some new items! My boyfriend has never been to the Encore yet and I would love the chance to take him and show him all this place has to offer.. Diamond seats are the best because you can get your own private table! I’d love to win the tickets, but either way, thank you so much for posting your review and photos. I really enjoyed reading it! I will now be reading every post from this blog. 🙂 – Amber Briley-

  17. My name is Michelle Lynn Terry and I would love to win this amazing opportunity so I could take my husband. We love the theatre and we have never tried this restaurant. Plus, the Encore’s Stuffed Portabello Mushrooms look AMAZING!!!!

  18. My mom, sister and I would go to the theatre at least once a month. But now they are on the east coast, and I’m out west. I’d drag my boyfriend, because the dinner (thank you for your photos) looks good enough for him to put up with a little theatre, that would warm my heart for a night!

Comments are closed.